de

Porsche

SpezifikatIonen

Make:
Porsche
Model:
550 Spyder
Year of manufacture:
1956
Exterior:
White
Key facts:
Extensive period racing history in the USA Matching gearbox Delivered new to John Von Neumann in the USA One of 32 cars built in 1956 Second to last 550 Spyder ever produced
Price:
POA
Tax:
Taxes paid, VAT non-reclaimable (§25a UStG./ VAT Act)

Model

The 550 Spyder was introduced to the world at the Paris Auto Show in 1953 and marked history as being Porsche’s first proper race car which would later put the brand on the map. Born a racer, it had all the ingredients to make it a formidable adversary on track, so much so that it was nicknamed the „Giant Killer“ in reference to its ability to defeat much more powerful rivals. The 550 sported an all aluminium 1,498 cc naturally aspirated air-cooled 4 cylinder boxer engine known as the „Fuhrmann Engine“ that developed 110 PS, and was so low to the ground that former German Formula One racer Hans Hermann drove it under closed railroad crossing gates during the 1954 Mille Miglia.

History

Porsche 550 Spyder chassis #550-0089 is the second to last 550 production car and one of 32 examples built in 1956. It was specifically built for John von Neumann, who at the time owned Competition Motors, a  Californian Porsche dealership and Racing team. The race car had several unique factory modifications, such as a large oval chrome grill positioned at the rear plus two scoop vents on the top of the engine bay and louvered vents along the rear fenders to help cool the engine.  The spyder had the reinforced ‘high frame’ designed chassis and was completed on the 28th of June 1956 with engine #90094 (type 547-03) and transmission #10091. The body was built by coachbuilder Wendler and painted silver with red darts.

Von Neumann, who had a significant role in introducing Porsche in California and building up the brand’s reputation in the USA, believed in the motto „Race on Sunday, sell on Monday“. Legendary racing drivers, such as Ken Miles, Phil Hill, Jack McAfee and Paul Richard „Richie“ Ginther all successfully raced John’s different cars. The later would pilot #550-0089 with start number 211 at Pomona in October 1956 where he was involved in an accident and did not finish. The small damage was then repaired and the car was back on track two weeks later at Palm Springs where it placed 3rd. „Richie“’s final race with the 550 Spyder was at the Cotati Rose Festival in May of 1957 where he achieved fourth in class.

Our car would later start a new and successful chapter at the hands of racing driver Jack West, where it took part in no less than 20 races in 1957 and 1958. With start number 141, West would score 2nd in class at Hourglass Field in San Diego (BM-EM) in 1957,  1st in class at Tracy Sports Car Races (FM, Unlimited) in 1958, 3rd at Laguna Seca Sports Car Races in 1958 and 1st in class at Minden Gardnerville Airport Race in October of 1958, which would be his last race at the wheel of #550-0089. Katherine „Sunnie“ Baker would then take our very car to victory at the Phoenix SCCA Ladies race in November 1958. An extensive overview of the racing history of this particular Spyder can be found at bottom of the page.

Chassis #550-0089 was supposedly owned by legendary racing driver Ken Miles at one point. It would then change hands a few times and eventually find its way in the well-known Netherlands based Porsche collection of Albert Westerman (State of Art), who used the car at historic events such as the Mille Miglia in 2009. The car would then be owned by a German collector before finding its way to our showroom.

Today, our 550 Spyder still retains its original transmission #10091 and is powered by a 356 Carrera engine with Spyder specification (type 547/1) #90089.  This piece of Porsche history is elligible for vintage tours and rallies, including big names such as the Mille Miglia, Tour Auto, Le Mans Classic and Goodwood Revival. A rare opportunity to own a scarce original example of the 550 Spyder with extensive period racing history.

The History

Pomona Road Races, LA County Fairgrounds 1956

Race 12, Richie Ginther, DNF

Race 7, Richie Ginther, 2/2

Palm Springs, SCCA National 1956

Richie Ginther, 3/3

Cotati Rose Festival 1957

Race 10, Richie Ginther, 4th

Pomona LA County Fairgrounds 1957

Jack West, —

Hourglass Field San Diego 1957

BM-EM, Jack West, 7/2

FM-HM, Jack West, 5/3

Preliminary, Jack West, 7/4

Stockton Sports Car Races, Pacific Championship (Round 3) 1958

Race 4, Jack West, 12/5

Race 8, Chick Leson, 6/5

Palm Springs Road Race, Pacific Championship (Round 4) 1958

Jack West, 19/10

Tracy Sports Car Races, Pacific Championship (Round 5) 1958

Race 11, Jack West, 7/3

Race 3, Jack West, 1/1

Race 8, Jack West, 3/3

Laguna Seca Sports Car Races, Pacific Championship (Round 8) 1958

Saturday Race 3, Jack West, —

Sunday Race 9, Jack West, 3/3

Vaca Valley Road Races, Pacific Coast Championship (Round 10) 1958

CM-EM, Jack West, 9/6

FM-HM, Jack West, 3/3

Minden GP Nevada, Pacific Coast Championship (Round 11) 1958

BM-EM, Jack West, 7/2

FM-HM, Jack West, 3/3

Vaca Valley SCCA National Sports Car Championship (Round 14) 1958

Jack West, –/3

Minden Gardnerville Airport Race 1958

BM-EM, Jack West, 10/1

FM-HM, Jack West, 2/2

S1.5, Jack West, 4/3

Pomona Road Races, 6h Pomona 1958

Women’s Race, Katherine „Sunnie“ Baker, 4/3

Phoenix SCCA 1958

Ladies, Katherine „Sunnie“ Baker, 1/1

 

Want More Details?

Die mit * gekennzeichneten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.
The fields marked with * are mandatory.
[borlabs-cookie id="instagram" type="content-blocker"]
This error message is only visible to WordPress admins

Error: No connected account.

Please go to the Instagram Feed settings page to connect an account.

[/borlabs-cookie]

font

Schaltkulisse GmbH
Hochstraße 21-23

82024 Taufkirchen
Germany

×
Search

Porsche
550 Spyder

SPEZIFIKATIONEN

Hersteller:
Porsche
Modell:
550 Spyder
Baujahr:
1956
Exterieur:
Weiß
Besonderheit:
umfangreiche Rennhistorie in den USA
Getriebe "matching numbers"
als Neufahrzeug ausgeliefert an John Von Neumann, USA
vorletzt gebauter 550 Spyder
einer von 32 gebauten Fahrzeugen in 1956
Preis:
Preis auf Anfrage
Steuer / VAT:
Umsatzsteuer nicht ausweisbar (§25a UStG.)

Modell

Der Porsche 550 Spyder wurde der Öffentlichkeit erstmals 1953 auf dem Pariser Autosalon vorgestellt und war der erste, offizielle Rennwagen aus dem Porsche-Werk in Zuffenhausen. Konstruiert um Rennen zu gewinnen brachte dieser Porsche alle Eigenschaften mit sich um es mit weit aus stärkeren Konkurrenten aufzunehmen und diese zu schlagen. Dies brachte ihm den Spitznamen „Giant Killer“.  Das Triebwerk bestand aus einem luftgekühlten, 4-Zylinder Boxer Motor mit 1.498 ccm und 110 PS, auch bekannt als „Fuhrmann-Motor“. Der 550 Spyder hatte zudem eine solch geringe Fahrzeughöhe, dass der ehemalige Formel 1 Pilot „Hans Hermann“ bei der Mille Miglia 1954 furchtlos unter geschlossenen Bahnschranken hindurch fuhr.

 

Historie

Unser Porsche 550 Spyder Chassis #550-0089 ist der vorletztgebaute von insgesamt 32 Stück welche 1956 das Werk verließen. Er wurde speziell für „John von Neumann“ gebaut, der damalige Besitzer von „Competition Motors“ in Kalifornien, einem Porsche Autohaus mit eigenem Rennteam. Ausgestattet mit zahlreichen, Modifikationen ab Werk war #550-0089 eine Besonderheit. Dies waren unter anderem der große ovale Grill am Heck, zwei Lufthutzen auf der Motorhaube und den hinteren, beiden Kotflügel. Der Spyder verließ am 28. Juni 1956 mit Motor Nr. #90094 (Typ 547-03) und Getriebe-Nr. #10091 das Werk. Die Karosserie wurde beim damaligen Karosserie-Bauer Wendler produziert, lackiert in silber mit roten Pfeilen.

Von Neumann, der maßgeblich an der Einführung von Porsche in Kalifornien und dem Aufbau des Rufs der Marke in den USA beteiligt war, glaubte an das Motto „win on sunday, sell on monday“. Legendäre Rennfahrer wie Ken Miles, Phil Hill, Jack McAfee und Paul Richard „Richie“ Ginther fuhren erfolgreich auf verschiedenen Autos aus John´s Rennstall. Letztgenannter startete mit # 550-0089 und Startnummer 211 in Pomona im Oktober 1956, war jedoch in einen Unfall verwickelt und konnte das Rennen deshlab nicht zu Ende fahren. Der kleine Schaden wurde zügig repariert sodass er bereits zwei Wochen später in Palm Springs wieder teilnehmen konnte und auf Platz  3 fuhr. Das letzte Rennen von „Richie“ mit dem 550 Spyder fand im Mai 1957 beim Cotati Rose Festival statt, wo er den vierten Platz in der Klasse erreichte.

Unser 550 Spyder fand anschließend seinen Weg in die Hände des Rennfahres Jack West der in den darauf folgenden zwei Jahren damit an mehr als 20 Rennen teil nahm. Mit der Startnummer #141 belegte Jack 1957 beim „Rennen von Hourglass Field“ in San Diego den zweiten Platz in seiner Klasse (BM-EM), 1958 gelang ihm der erste Platz beim „Tracy Sports Cars Race“ in seiner Klasse (FM, Unlimited), dritter Platz in „Laguna Seca“ und wiederum erster Platz bei „Minden Gardnerville Airport Race“ was auch zugleich sein letztes Rennen mit #141 war. Das Auto wechselte im Oktober 1958 den Besitzer und war nun in den Händen von Katherine „Sunnie“ Baker. Sie gewann prompt im November des selben Jahres das Rennen in Phoenix „SCCA Ladies race. Die umfassende Rennhistorie dieses Spyder´s haben wir weiter unten aufgelistet.

Chassis #550-0089 war später angeblich im Besitz der Rennfahrerlegende „Ken Miles“ und fand anschließend seinen Weg in die bekannte, niederländische Porsche-Sammlung von Albert Westermann (State of Art). Herr Westermann nahm unter anderem 2009 damit an der „Mille Miglia“ teil. Später war unser 550 Spyder in deutscher Sammler-Hand und fand so seinen Weg in unseren Showroom nach Taufkirchen/München.

Heute ist noch immer das originale Getriebe #10091 verbaut, in Kombination mit einem 356 Carrera Motor mit Spyder Spezifikation (Typ 547/1) #90089. Dieser historischer Porsche eignet sich für Oldtimer Touren und Rallies, genauso wie für Rennen an den bekanntesten Veranstaltungen wie Mille Miglia, Tour Auto, Le Mans Classic und Goodwood Revival. Eine seltene Gelegenheit, einen Porsche 550 Spyder mit umfangreicher Renngeschichte zu erwerben.

 

Renn-Historie

Pomona Road Races, LA County Fairgrounds 1956

Race 12, Richie Ginther, DNF

Race 7, Richie Ginther, 2/2

Palm Springs, SCCA National 1956

Richie Ginther, 3/3

Cotati Rose Festival 1957

Race 10, Richie Ginther, 4th

Pomona LA County Fairgrounds 1957

Jack West, —

Hourglass Field San Diego 1957

BM-EM, Jack West, 7/2

FM-HM, Jack West, 5/3

Preliminary, Jack West, 7/4

Stockton Sports Car Races, Pacific Championship (Round 3) 1958

Race 4, Jack West, 12/5

Race 8, Chick Leson, 6/5

Palm Springs Road Race, Pacific Championship (Round 4) 1958

Jack West, 19/10

Tracy Sports Car Races, Pacific Championship (Round 5) 1958

Race 11, Jack West, 7/3

Race 3, Jack West, 1/1

Race 8, Jack West, 3/3

Laguna Seca Sports Car Races, Pacific Championship (Round 8) 1958

Saturday Race 3, Jack West, —

Sunday Race 9, Jack West, 3/3

Vaca Valley Road Races, Pacific Coast Championship (Round 10) 1958

CM-EM, Jack West, 9/6

FM-HM, Jack West, 3/3

Minden GP Nevada, Pacific Coast Championship (Round 11) 1958

BM-EM, Jack West, 7/2

FM-HM, Jack West, 3/3

Vaca Valley SCCA National Sports Car Championship (Round 14) 1958

Jack West, –/3

Minden Gardnerville Airport Race 1958

BM-EM, Jack West, 10/1

FM-HM, Jack West, 2/2

S1.5, Jack West, 4/3

Pomona Road Races, 6h Pomona 1958

Women’s Race, Katherine „Sunnie“ Baker, 4/3

Phoenix SCCA 1958

Ladies, Katherine „Sunnie“ Baker, 1/1